Digital marketing, I heard that term since I was in college but hasn’t been very well knowing about it. First time, I didn’t really care about digital marketing and everything that associated with it. Sometimes I talked to myself, “If I never really care about digital marketing, but why I even know that term? Is that for real I’ve been doing digital marketing without realizing it?”

Image

That time, I was thinking that digital marketing is a way to sell the products futuristically. I didn’t even know how to do it since my first touch with digital world is all about showing my poems off to people in the internet.

But, when I started a blog in 2006, I thought it was my first time being in touch with digital marketing. Not only writing, but I tried to make traffic to my blog. Though I was not obsessed with being famous, obviously I wanted people to read my writing.

The readers came one by one because a friend helped me. They started to love my writing, and then I learn about how to write appropriately because I didn’t want to disappoint them. I even communicated interactively with the readers and collected their knowledge about writing to educate myself well.

So, the impression successfully was made. I had feed back, my writings bit more colorful, and yes, I had new friends. But, I still don’t understand what I’ve done was a digital marketing.

At 2009, I worked at content provider company. For two years, I learned about digital marketing technology and how it can be used to combine pushing and pulling message to people, even they don’t like it. Since it is digital, people could not avoid content subscriptions as long as they have cellular phone.

But I don’t want to talk about how the content providers did their dirty strategies to get a lot of subscribers. All I learned while working in the content provider is the content is very important. You can see how your campaign is successfully performing from the content, such as what is being viewed, how often, how long, as well as other actions such as responses rates and purchases made. That made me understands the needs of good contents for digital marketing. The good content is a communication vehicle and a powerful marketing medium. Content is a king and digital marketing without content is nothing.

Social Media Help Me Out Understand Digital Marketing
Digital marketing is constantly evolving and new technologies are being created all of the time. Then social media comes and digital marketing has gone miles ahead.

The knowledge of mine about digital marketing has really increased over the last few years since I knew about social media. It became the new trend for spreading the word for your business. You can select your target audience, approach them, draw them towards your site, and convert them into potential customers.

Image

In the first time, I didn’t interest at all having social media account. I saw people overly attached to smartphone then distracting them to do the most important things in their life. But my colleague frequently approached me to join Twitter, since I didn’t like Facebook. He said that Twitter will help us out gathering ideas since we worked in creative industry. Every time we had the ideas, even the unexpected time, we kept them on Twitter, and discussed it later.

May 2010, I decided to make Twitter, my first social media account. I started in love using it. It is like a virtual planet to live and help me out find new friends to get connected.

Later, my friend taught me how to run a business by monitoring Twitter account for brand. I learned how to do social listening to know what people think about the product/service and how to capture the target audience. “All you need to do is connect and build relationship to let them know who you are,” he said.

Nowadays, Twitter user is growing in Indonesia and being home to the sixth largest number of users worldwide. Moreover, Twitter and other social networks now can help a small business as well as large businesses. Not only cost effectively, but also help a lot in increasing productivity.

It is still a long way to go to digital marketing but I would always want to do that. That’s why besides understanding how important good contents and how distributing them in social networks, I start to learn about Search Engine Optimization (SEO). It could really be a savior if done correctly. People will never concern about your content and your campaign as long as it cannot be found in Google. That means SEO can be a proven record to your site in no substantial time.

Digital Marketing is An Action, Not Only A Story
As a center point for the marketers nowadays, digital marketing is a challenge. That means when you engage to it, you require a lot of time, patience, strategy, and effort, but it would pay off in the long run.

With all digital marketing technologies now, everyone is ready to take full advantage of digital marketing and watch the revenues soar.

 

Photo Courtesy:
1. brandignity.com
2. ereachconsulting.com

Leave a Reply

